Best American Poetry  


Welcome to our list of magazines that had work selected for inclusion in the anthology Best American Poetry. If we forgot a journal or if a link isn't working you can tell us on our message boards.


People have asked "big deal, what does this list mean anyway?" Well we think it at least means these journals have had high quality work published in them at one time. It might also mean these journals consistently publish high quality work. It at very least means these journals have a credit in a national anthology. Great recognition and a pretty good bet on a place to try to publish your work.

 

The Best American Poetry Anthology was started by David Lehman in 1988. Every year the anthology picks a guest editor to select the poems. The anthology is hands down outstanding high quality poetry. It is for poets by great poets. You can visit Best American Poetry here. Please consider supporting this publication each year. We mean buy and read a copy. Many wonderful publications like this go out of business far too often.

You can find a complete interactive listing of our magazines here.
  

14 Hills http://14hills.net/ 
26 Magazine http://www.26magazine.com/ 
Aerial Edge http://www.aerialedge.com/aerial.htm 
Agni http://www.bu.edu/agni/about/guidelines/ 
Alaskan Quarterly Review http://aqr.uaa.alaska.edu/ 
American Poetry Review http://www.aprweb.org/ 
Antioch Review http://review.antioch.edu/ 
Arshile http://home.earthlink.net/~arshile/ 
Ascent http://www.cord.edu/dept/english/ascent  
Atlantic http://www.theatlantic.com/letters/edlet.htm#submissions 
Barrow Street http://www.barrowstreet.org/ 
Beloit Poetry Journal http://www.bpj.org/ 
Bitter Oleander http://www.bitteroleander.com/issues.html 
Black Warrior Review http://www.webdelsol.com/bwr/ 
Bomb http://www.bombsite.com/ 
Bombay Gin http://www.naropa.edu/writingandpoetics/bombaygin.html 
Boston Review http://bostonreview.net/ 
Boulevard http://www.richardburgin.net/boulevard 
Bird Dog http://www.birddogmagazine.com/

Bridge Magazine http://www.bridgemagazine.org/online/ 
Brooklyn Review http://depthome.brooklyn.cuny.edu/english/bkrvw/ 
Café Review http://www.thecafereview.com/ 
Callaloo http://xroads.virginia.edu/~public/callaloo/home/callaloohome.htm 
Can We Have Our Ball Back http://canwehaveourballback.blogspot.com/ 
Canary http://www.thecanary.org/ 
Chain http://www.temple.edu/chain/ 
Chicago Review http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/review/ 
Cincinnati Review http://www.cincinnatireview.com/

Clock Watch http://titan.iwu.edu/~jplath/clockwatch.html 
Colorado Review http://www.coloradoreview.com/ 
Common Grounds Review http://www.cgreview.org  /
Conduit http://www.conduit.org/ 
Conjunctions http://www.conjunctions.com/ 
Columbia Poetry Review http://english.colum.edu/cpr/

Connecticut Review http://www.connecticutreview.com/ 
Crab Orchard http://www.siu.edu/~crborchd/ 
Crazyhorse http://crazyhorse.cofc.edu/

Cream City Review http://www.uwm.edu/Dept/English/ccr/ 
Crowd http://www.crowdmagazine.com/ (deadlink)

DC Poetry http://www.dcpoetry.com/ 
Denver Quarterly http://www.denverquarterly.com/index.cfm 
Drumvoices http://www.siue.edu/ENGLISH/dvr/ 
Epoch http://www.arts.cornell.edu/english/epoch.html 
Evansville Review http://evansvillereview.evansville.edu/AboutEvansvilleReview.htm 
Exquisite Corpse http://www.corpse.org/index.html 
Fence http://www.fencemag.com/v7n2/ 
Field http://www.oberlin.edu/ocpress/field.html 
Fine Madness http://www.finemadness.org/ 
Five Points http://webdelsol.com/Five_Points/ 
Formalist http://theformalist.evansville.edu/ 
Fracture http://webdelsol.com/Facture/ 
Fulcrum http://fulcrumpoetry.com/

Gargoyle Magazine http://www.gargoylemagazine.com/index.html 
Georgia Review http://www.uga.edu/~garev/ 
Germ http://www.walrus.com/~gibralto/acorn/germ/ 
Gettysburg Review http://public.gettysburg.edu/academics/gettysburg_review/ 
Grand Street http://www.grandstreet.com/ 
Green Mountain Review http://greenmountainsreview.jsc.vsc.edu  /
Gulf Coast http://www.gulfcoastmag.org/

Hanging Loose http://www.hangingloosepress.com/ 
Harpers http://www.harpers.org/ 
Harvard Advocate http://www.theharvardadvocate.com  / 
Harvard Review http://hcl.harvard.edu/harvardreview/

Holly Ridge http://members.aol.com/hollyridgepress/ 
Hotel Amerika http://www.hotelamerika.net/index.shtml 
Hudson Review http://www.hudsonreview.com/ 
Indiana Review http://www.indiana.edu/~inreview/general/guidelines.html 
Iodine Poetry Journal http://www.iodinepoetryjournal.com/ 
Iowa Review http://www.uiowa.edu/~iareview/mainpages/current_issue.html 
Jacket http://jacketmagazine.com/ 
Jubilat http://www.jubilat.org/n9/ 
Kalliope http://opencampus.fccj.org/kalliope/index.html 
Kenyon Review http://www.kenyonreview.org/ 
Kiosk http://wings.buffalo.edu/epc/mags/kiosk/kiosksub.html 
La Petite Zine http://www.lapetitezine.org/ 
Lingo http://www.cultureport.com/newhp/lingo/index.html 
Lit http://www.nsu.newschool.edu/writing/lit/index.htm 
Literal Latte http://www.literal-latte.com/ 
Literary Times Supplement http://tls.timesonline.co.uk/ 
London Review of Books http://www.lrb.co.uk/

Lyric Review http://www.lyricreview.org/ 
Manoa http://www.hawaii.edu/mjournal/ 
Many Moving Mountains http://www.mmminc.org/ 
MAR http://www.bgsu.edu/studentlife/organizations/midamericanreview/ 
Margie http://www.margiereview.com/ 
Massachusetts Review http://www.massreview.org/faq.html 
Mcsweeney’s http://www.mcsweeneys.net/ 
Meridian http://www.engl.virginia.edu/meridian/ 
Michigan Quarterly Review http://www.umich.edu/~mqr/ 
Mipoeias http://www.mipoesias.com/

Mississippi Review http://www.mississippireview.com/ 
Nation http://www.thenation.com/ 
Nerter http://webpages.ull.es/users/mbrito/NERTERWEBPAGES/nerter.htm 
New American Writing http://www.newamericanwriting.com/ 
New Criterion http://www.newcriterion.com/ 
New England Review http://cat.middlebury.edu/~nereview/ 
New Letters http://www.newletters.org/ 
New Millennium Writings http://www.mach2.com/books/NewMillenniumWritings/index.html 
New Republic http://www.tnr.com/ 
New York Review of Books http://www.nybooks.com/ 
New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com/ 
Nimrod http://www.utulsa.edu/nimrod/  
No Journal http://www.nojournal.com/
North American Review http://www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR/ 
Northwest Review http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~nwreview/ 
Notre Dame Review http://www.nd.edu/~ndr/review.htm

On The Bus http://www.beachnet.com/~apeiron/OTB.HTM 
Ontario Review http://www.ontarioreviewpress.com/ 
Painted Bride Quarterly http://webdelsol.com/pbq/issue73/index.php 
Paris Review http://www.parisreview.com/ 
Parnassus Poetry http://www.parnassuspoetry.com/ 
Parsons Literary Review http://www.pccc.cc.nj.us/poetry/review32.html 
Partisan Review http://www.bu.edu/partisanreview/ 
PataPhysics http://www.pataphysicsmagazine.com/ 
Phoebe http://phoebejournal.com/

Phoenix http://www.thephoenix.com/ 
Pleiades http://www.cmsu.edu/englphil/pleiades/ 
Ploughshares http://www.pshares.org/ 
PMS http://pms-journal.org/ 
Poet-Lore http://www.writer.org/pubs/poet-lore.asp 
Poetry Daily http://www.poems.com/ 
Poetry East http://condor.depaul.edu/~poetryea/ 
Poetry Flash http://www.poetryflash.org/ 
Poetry Magazine http://www.poetrymagazine.org/ 
Poetry Project Newsletter http://www.poetryproject.com/newsletter.html 
Pool http://www.poolpoetry.com/ 
Potomac Review http://www.montgomerycollege.edu/potomacreview/ 
Prairie Schooner http://prairieschooner.unl.edu/html/submit.html 
Pressed Wafer http://www.durationpress.com/pressedwafer/mag.htm 
Progressive http://www.progressive.org/ 
Provincetown http://www.provincetownarts.org/ 
Qequod http://www.thepequod.org.uk/ 
Quarter After Eight http://cscwww.cats.ohiou.edu/~quarter/main.html 
Quarterly West http://www.utah.edu/quarterlywest/ 
Raritan Quarterly http://raritanquarterly.rutgers.edu/ 
Rattapallax http://www.rattapallax.com/poep.htm 
Rattle http://rattle.com/ 
Rhino http://www.rhinopoetry.org/ 
Rivendell http://www.rivendelljournal.org/

River City http://www.people.memphis.edu/~rivercity/ 
River Styx http://www.riverstyx.org/ 
Rosebud http://www.rsbd.net/ 
Runes http://members.aol.com/Runes/RunesGuidelines.html

Salmagundi http://www.skidmore.edu/salmagundi/141/ 
Santa Monica Review http://www.smc.edu/sm_review/default.htm 
Sienese Shredder http://www.sienese-shredder.com/

Seneca Review http://www.hws.edu/senecareview/ 
Sentence http://www.firewheel-editions.org/sentence/current.htm

Shenandoah http://shenandoah.wlu.edu/ 
Shiny http://wings.buffalo.edu/epc/ezines/treehome/tree02/shiny_78.html 
Skanky Possum http://www.skankypossum.com/ 
Slate http://www.slate.com/  
Slope http://www.slope.org /
Sonora http://www.coh.arizona.edu/sonora/ 
Southern Review http://www.lsu.edu/thesouthernreview/ 
South Story http://www.storysouth.com/

Spoon http://www.litline.org/Spoon/ 
Subtropics http://www.english.ufl.edu/subtropics/ 
Talisman http://wings.buffalo.edu/epc/mags/talisman.html 
Tampa Review http://tampareview.ut.edu/ 
TAR River Poetry http://personal.ecu.edu/makuckp/home.html 
Texas Observer http://www.texasobserver.org/ 
Texas Review http://www.shsu.edu/~www_trp/ 
Thirdcoast http://www.wmich.edu/thirdcoast/ 
Thought Magazine http://www.geocities.com/thoughtmagazine/ 
Threepenny Review http://www.threepennyreview.com/ 
Tikkun http://www.tikkun.org/ 
Tin House http://www.tinhouse.com/index.htm 
TOR Newsletter http://www.torhouse.org/news.htm 
Triquarterly http://www.triquarterly.org/ 
Van Gogh’s Ear http://www.motherbird.com/Van'sEar.html 
Verse http://versemag.blogspot.com/ 
Virginia Quarterly Review http://www.vqronline.org/ 
Volt http://www.voltpoetry.com/

Weber http://weberstudies.weber.edu/ 
Western Humanities Review http://www.hum.utah.edu/whr/ 
Witness http://www.webdelsol.com/Witness/ 
World Magazine http://www.worldmag.com/ 
Xconnect http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/xconnect/ 
Yale Review http://www.yale.edu/yalereview/ 
Zyzzyva http://www.zyzzyva.org/ 

 

 

      

   


  

 

 

Literary Magazines

 

Enter your email to receive literary magazine updates by email every day!

 

You can visit our Literary Magazines site here. The most recent updates are listed below. We are working to replace our big list and give you more useful information on each magazine:

 

 

Enter your email address and get Lit Mag listing every day by email:

Delivered by FeedBurner

You can now subscribe to this feed or add it to your site!

 

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

 

About us                      Site Map                                Connect                    Privacy Policy