O.Henry Awards

This is our list of magazines that have had work selected to be honored by the O’Henry Awards. Since 1918 they have been awarding short fiction writers this award. It is a time honored tradition, and the first collection of O’Henry awards was published in 1919.

We always think it is important to look for magazines such as the ones we have listed below. We think it is important to support these magazines. When we first put this list together, as well as others we have on our site, it was very difficult to find information like this on the web. Now you can find a complete listing of the magazines and more about the awards on the Penn/OHenry Awards website.

We still list these magazines as a reminder and even to inform writers of the importance and existence of well established and well received literary magazines. We think it is outstanding that there are new literary magazines and literary websites popping up everyday, but those that came before and are still published deserve recognition, and we think if you support these great magazines with both your submissions and your subscriptions they will continue to bring great literature to the public.

It is also reasonable to assume that publishing with these magazines, being that they are so well established, is more desirable and more beneficial than publishing with a magazine that is new to the world of publishing. Not everyone will agree, and that’s fine, but read these magazines, see the writing, see the quality. It will make you want to write and publish more.

Today it is becoming easy to publish your own work. It is easy to publish a literary magazine,  but there is nothing easy in these magazines. If you have published your own novel or collection of short stories, you only have your readers and your profits to tell you how well you are doing. These are very good measurements. There is nothing wrong with profiting and there is nothing wrong with having a loyal and even loving audience, but these awards are about other writers enjoying your work. They are awards from fellow writers who love and know writing as much as you do. Today everything seems to be placed against the yard stick of money. It’s understandable for sure, but we don’t know how long the great profitable writers of today will do in the hall of tomorrow. Critical acclaim should still mean something more than a book on the back of a book cover. 

 

Agni http://www.bu.edu/agni/

Alaska Quarterly Review http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/aqr/

American Short Fiction http://www.americanshortfiction.org/

Antioch Review http://review.antiochcollege.org/

Anvil http://www.anvilmag.com/

Ascent http://www.cord.edu/dept/english/ascent/ 

Atlantic Monthly http://www.theatlantic.com/

Bamboo Ridge http://www.bambooridge.com/

Boulevard http://www.boulevardmagazine.org/

California Quarterly http://californiaquarterly.blogspot.com/

Callaloo http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/callaloo/

Carolina Quarterly http://www.unc.edu/depts/cqonline/

Chicago Review http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/review/

Chicago Tribune http://www.chicagotribune.com/

Cimarron Review http://cimarronreview.okstate.edu/

Commentary http://www.commentarymagazine.com/

Conjunctions http://www.conjunctions.com/

Crescent Review http://www.crescentreview.org/

Crosscurrents http://www.crosscurrents.org/

CutBank http://www.umt.edu/cutbank/

Denver Quarterly http://www.denverquarterly.com/

Dominion Review http://www.webdelsol.com/dreview/

Epoch http://www.epoch.cornell.edu/

Esquire http://www.esquire.com/

Fiction http://www.fictioninc.com/

Fiction International http://www.fictioninternational.com/

Fiddlehead http://www.lib.unb.ca/Texts/Fiddlehead/

Fourteen Hills http://14hills.net/

Georgia Review http://www.uga.edu/~garev/

Gettysburg Review http://public.gettysburg.edu/academics/gettysburg_review/

Glamour http://www.glamour.com/

GQ http://men.style.com/gq

Granta http://www.granta.com/

Greensboro Review http://www.uncg.edu/eng/mfa/gr/index.html 

Harper’s Bazaar http://www.harpersbazaar.com/

Harper’s Magazine http://www.harpers.org/

Hudson Review http://www.hudsonreview.com/  

Idaho Review http://idahoreview.org/

Image http://www.imagejournal.org/current/

Indiana Review http://www.indiana.edu/~inreview/

Iowa Review http://iowareview.uiowa.edu/

Jewish Tribune http://www.bnaibrith.ca/tribune/tribune.htm

Kansas  http://eresources.lib.unc.edu/ejournal/exacthandler.php?titlewords=Kansas+quarterly

Kenyon Review Kenyon Review http://www.kenyonreview.org/

Ladies Home Journal http://www.lhj.com/

Little Magazine http://www.littlemag.com/venusenvy/index.html

Malahat Review http://web.uvic.ca/malahat/

Manoa http://www.hawaii.edu/mjournal/

Massachusetts Review http://www.massreview.org/

McSweeney’s http://www.mcsweeneys.net/

Michigan Quarterly Review http://www.umich.edu/~mqr/

Midstream http://www.midstreamthf.com/

Missouri Review http://www.missourireview.com/

Mother Jones http://www.motherjones.com/

New American Review http://www.curledup.com/newamer.htm

New Anvil http://www.anvilmag.com/

New England Review http://cat.middlebury.edu/~nereview/

New Letters http://www.newletters.org/

New Orleans Review http://www.loyno.edu/~noreview

New Republic http://www.tnr.com/

New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com/main/magazine/

North American Review http://www.northamericanreview.org/

North Dakota Quarterly http://www.und.nodak.edu/org/ndq/

Northwest Review http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~nwreview/

One Story http://www.one-story.com/

Ontario Review http://www.ontarioreviewpress.com/

Oxford American http://www.oxfordamericanmag.com/

Paris Review http://www.parisreview.com/

Partisan Review http://www.bu.edu/partisanreview/

Playboy http://www.playboy.com/

Ploughshares http://www.pshares.org/

Prairie Fire http://www.prairiefire.ca/

Prairie Schooner http://prairieschooner.unl.edu/

Prism International http://prism.arts.ubc.ca/

Quarterly Review of Literature http://www.princeton.edu/~qrl/poetryseries.html

Raritan http://raritanquarterly.rutgers.edu/

Reporter http://www.thereporter.com/

Rio Grande Review http://www.utep.edu/rgr/

Rocky Mountain Review http://rmmla.wsu.edu/ereview/queue.asp

Sewanee Review http://www.sewanee.edu/sewanee_review

Shenandoah http://shenandoah.wlu.edu/

St. Anthony Messenger http://www.americancatholic.org/Messenger/Oct2006/default.asp

Stanford Humanities Review http://www.stanford.edu/group/SHR/

Stratford Magazine http://www.stanfordalumni.org/news/magazine/2006/sepoct/home.html

Texas Review http://www.shsu.edu/~www_trp/

Threepenny Review http://www.threepennyreview.com/

Tikkun http://www.tikkun.org/

TriQuarterly http://www.triquarterly.org/

Vanity Fair http://www.vanityfair.com/

Village Voice Literary Supplement http://www.villagevoice.com/

Virginia Quarterly Review http://www.vqronline.org/

Washingtonian http://www.washingtonian.com/

Western Review http://www.westernreview.com/

Yale Review http://www.yale.edu/yalereview/

Yellow Silk http://www.well.com/user/green/Yellow%20Silk/ysysysysys.html

Zoetrope: All Story http://www.all-story.com/

Zyzzyva http://www.zyzzyva.org/